FLFPD honors its own during annual awards banquet

-A A +A

Larry Leinweber wins Everett Hogelin Memorial Award

By Ben Wiebesiek

FORT LUPTON — At this year’s awards banquet, the Fort Lupton Fire Protection District recognized the hard work and determination of several of its own firefighters.


District board President Larry Leinweber was selected Feb. 15 for the 2103 Everett Hogelin Memorial Award.

The Everett Hogelin Memorial Award is presented annually by the Fort Lupton Fire Department to the person most exemplifying the characteristics of “humility, dedicated citizenship, and a sincere concern for his fellow man that were lived by Everett Hogelin.”

The namesake for the award, Everett Hogelin, joined the Fort Lupton Fire Department in 1939 and served on the board until his death in 1973.

The Everett Hogelin Memorial Award was originally known as The Outstanding Citizen Award, and it was given by the Fort Lupton Fire Department to honor a citizen of the community for their dedicated word and community involvement.

Fire Chief Phil Tiffany recommended Leinweber for the award, and in a letter to the Hogelin Memorial Award Selection Committee, Tiffany wrote that Leinweber supported the spirit of this award by his service and dedication to the Fort Lupton community and residents.

“During Larry’s tenure of 26 years with the fire district, he has served as a volunteer firefighter and led the District as the President of the Board of Directors overseeing numerous changes. These changes included the approval and construction of Station 2, Training Center, purchase of the Ladder Truck, a seven million dollar project in 2003,” Tiffany said. “He also was integral in the hiring of the first career Fire Chief, hiring of 15 career firefighters to better serve the district, the approval of a mill levy increase in 2012, the remodeling of Station 1 in 2013, and supporting the long-term vision with the proper equipment and safety of the firefighters of the fire district for many years to come along with other numerous purchases and achievements.” 

Tiffany said Leinweber’s guidance kept the district financially sound in both the pension and general operating expenses.

“Larry has always kept the all of the residents of the entire district in mind always looking to improve rural fire services,” Tiffany said. “He rarely accepts any credit for these accomplishments and is a silent leader and true professional among the fire district.”

The FLFPD also honored volunteer firefighter James May with the ADAM 1 Volunteer Firefighter of the year award in memory of Denny Leo Mintle — sometimes shortened to just the Denny Mintle Award.

“The recipient of these awards have been chosen by the Chief and officers of the department and presented to an active Fort Lupton Volunteer Firefighter that has gone above and beyond the normal duties,” Tiffany said. “James is very active in the community shaving his head for St. Baldrick’s Foundation for childhood cancer, running in a marathon, biking 150 miles for MS, helping at the schools, participating in the 9/11 stair climb, or with the Optimist Club Easter Egg Hunt. James always brings a positive attitude to the fire station.”

The award, which is selected each year, is named in honor of Past Captain Denny Mintle who passed away suddenly from a medical condition in 2001.

Both May and Leinweber were joined by the families of Mintle and Hogelin.

The awards banquet also featured recognition of firefighters James Coursey and Jerry Andrews. Coursey was recognized for 20 years of service as a volunteer firefighter and Jerry Andrews was recognized for 17 years of service as a volunteer firefighter. Each were presented with a leather fire helmet.

Tiffany said this won’t be the only time that Fort Lupton Firefighters are honored this month.

“Then on Feb. 27, the fire chief up in Milliken/Johnstown, he’s going to be coming to our board meeting to recognize four of our firefighters who were involved in the flooding up there,” Tiffany said. “He’s going to present them with a token for what they did in the Greeley/Evans area.”